Pro Carona

 

Tourist Office

Carona - a place of refuge and nostalgia

------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Message from the committee of Pro Carona


Carona - a place of refuge and nostalgia

We Carona people feel particularly privileged in this extraordinary year. We have the great fortune to live in a very beautiful and intact village, surrounded by nature but nevertheless situated in an urban context. Especially this year we appreciate even more its geographical position, its surroundings and the social fabric that Carona can offer us.

Since the beginning of June, many people from Ticino have also discovered or rediscovered this gem of a village. Many of them have told us that they have not been here for years or that they did not know Carona at all. Our pride and joy, such as the historic village center, the San Grato Park, the sports facilities with the municipal swimming pool, the tennis court and the wonderful hiking and biking trails on the peaks of Monte Arbostora, have been the main attractions for many tourists to Carona. Many tourists from the German-speaking part of Switzerland, and this year especially from the French-speaking, visited us.

Past, present, future - time never stands still in Carona either, but it passes and brings with it change. Where one door closes, others open and new opportunities arise. With this in mind, we would like to thank the Riva family of Ristorante Parco San Grato and the Parini family of Ristorante La Posta, as well as Mr. Adriano Geiger of “B&B Casa del 1577” for their commitment to our Carona over the years. Special thanks also go to the late Mr Albisetti, who sadly passed away in January this year, and to his family. Over the years, “Pan Perdü” has always been a meeting place and a place of good memories. Let us never forget that it is also thanks to these tourist millstones that Carona has been able to survive and continues to be alive today.

The future can only exist alongside the past. This is why we are very grateful that Francesco Donati (already owner of the “Trani” restaurant in Lugano) has taken over the management of Ristorante La Posta. In the near future, the Ristorante Parco San Grato and the Ristorante “La Sosta” will also reappear to customers in all their splendor and complete the already extensive gastronomic range in Carona. The renovation of the Ristorante San Grato by the Municipality of Lugano has also begun.

Pro Carona's activities unfortunately had to be significantly reduced due to the directives issued by the Confederation and the Canton. In retrospect, however, we have achieved a very positive result. According to the report broadcast by RSI "Vacanze a KM zero" and the replies collected in the village, Carona this year recorded an influx of tourists not seen for many years.

The current situation in which many tourists have preferred contact with nature and its virtues, the various marketing activities promoted by Pro Carona, the Region of Lugano, Ticino Tourism, Switzerland Tourism (Million Stars Hotel - Tree Tent Parco San Grato), the Canton of Ticino (with the action "Vivi il tuo Ticino") and not least the Mercedes-Benz national TV spot with the presence of Roger Federer in Piazza Montàa have aroused great interest in Carona and its surroundings.

Pro Carona would therefore like to express its heartfelt thanks to all those who have supported us in this special and challenging year.

The year 2021 is just around the corner. Pro Carona is optimistic about the people of Carona and the tourists who will visit us in the future. Let us always remember how fantastic this gem of a town is and let us preserve it with special care. Thank you very much

 

The Committee of Pro Carona

Pro Carona

 

Office du tourisme

Carona - un lieu de refuge et de nostalgie

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Message du comité de Pro Carona

Carona - un lieu de refuge et de nostalgie

Nous, habitants de Carona, sommes singulièrement privilégiés en cette année « particulière ». Nous avons la chance de vivre dans un magnifique village, intact, entouré par la nature et néanmoins situé dans un contexte urbain. Cette année, nous apprécions encore plus sa position géographique, son environnement et le tissu social qu’il peut nous offrir.

Depuis le début du mois de juin, de nombreux Tessinois ont découvert ou respectivement redécouvert cette perle de village. Beaucoup d'entre eux nous ont dit qu'ils n'étaient pas venus ici depuis des années ou qu'ils ne connaissaient pas du tout Carona. Le centre historique du village, le parc de San Grato, les installations sportives avec la piscine municipale, le court de tennis et les merveilleux sentiers de randonnée et de vélo sur les sommets du mont Arbostora sont les principales attractions de Carona. Cette année, nous avons reçu de nombreux touristes de Suisse alémanique, et surtout de Suisse romande.

Passé, présent, futur - le temps ne s'arrête jamais à Carona, il passe et entraine des changements. Lorsqu'une porte se ferme, de nouvelles s'ouvrent et des opportunités inédites se présentent. Dans cette optique, nous tenons à remercier la famille Riva du Restaurant « Parco San Grato » et la famille Parini du Restaurant  « La Posta », ainsi que M. Adriano Geiger du « B&B Casa del 1577 » pour leur engagement envers notre village au fil des ans. Des remerciements particuliers vont également à feu M. Albisetti, malheureusement décédé en janvier de cette année, et à sa famille. Le « Pan Perdü », ces dernières années, a toujours été un lieu de rencontre et de bons souvenirs. N'oublions jamais que c'est aussi grâce à ces repères touristiques que Carona a pu survivre et continue à vivre aujourd'hui.

L'avenir ne peut exister qu'avec le passé. C'est pourquoi nous sommes très heureux que Francesco Donati (déjà propriétaire du restaurant Trani à Lugano) ait repris la direction du restaurant « La Posta ». Prochainement, les restaurants « Parco San Grato » et  « La Sosta » seront à nouveau ouverts dans toute leur splendeur et complèteront la gamme gastronomique déjà étendue de Carona. La rénovation du Restaurant « San Grato » par la municipalité de Lugano est également en bonne route.

En raison des directives émises par la Confédération et le canton, les activités de Pro Carona ont malheureusement dû être considérablement réduites. Cependant, rétrospectivement, nous avons obtenu des retombées touristiques très satisfaisantes. Suite à l’émission TV « Vacance a KM zero » diffusée par la RSI et les réponses recueillies dans le village, Carona a enregistré un afflux de touristes comme on n'en avait plus vu depuis plusieurs années.

La situation actuelle, où de nombreux touristes préfèrent le contact avec la nature et ses vertus, les différentes activités de marketing promues par Pro Carona, la Région de Lugano, Ticino Tourism, Switzerland Tourism (Million Stars Hotel - Tree Tent Parco San Grato), le Canton du Tessin (avec l'action « Live your Ticino ») et enfin et surtout la publicité Mercedes-Benz avec la présence de Roger Federer sur la Piazza Montàa ont suscité un grand intérêt pour Carona et ses environs

Pro Carona remercie chaleureusement tous ceux qui nous ont soutenus au cours de cette année difficile.
L'année 2021 approche à grands pas. Pro Carona est optimiste en ce qui concerne les habitants de Carona et les touristes qui nous rendront visite à l'avenir. N'oublions jamais à quel point ce fleuron de notre patrimoine est fantastique et préservons-le avec le plus grand soin.

Un grand merci à vous.


Le Comité Pro Carona

 

 

 

 

suscité un grand intérêt pour Carona et ses environs.